Fumio Sawa Fine Art
114 East Main Street, Suite A Trinidad, CO 81082
Saint Louis has a very rich history in the world of glass making supported by the abundance of these natural resources. The glassworks of Saint Louis were originally known as Münzthal when they were founded in 1586. Almost two centuries later, in 1767, Louis XV granted the glassworks of Münzthal the honorable title of "Verreries Royales" and placed them under the protection of his patron saint, "Saint Louis."
On the eve of the French Revolution, the House of Saint Louis was the first on the Continent to perfect the manufacture of lead crystal. In 1781, The Royal Academy of Sciences acknowledged the high quality of this crystal when they recognized Saint Louis as a Cristallerie. Saint Louis played a central role in crystal's golden age of the 19th century. The House's art revealed major technical and ornamental innovations: the master of color, the discovery of crystal opaline, the application of fine 24 karat gold, the development of new engraving and cutting techniques, and the production of the first millefiori paperweights and filigreed pieces. Each of these artistic dimensions remains present in the current collection.
In the House's rich history, the 20th century has proven to be as illustrious as the previous three. Today, the master craftsmen of Saint Louis, as they have for over four hundred years, continue to blow crystal by mouth. Cutters and gilders shape and decorate each piece with their hands and thus each Saint Louis creation is unique. These exceptional artisans, who have perfected their talents under the tutelage of their grandparents, and who will in turn train their own grandchildren, are considered to be among the finest craftsmen in the world.
Image Copyright © Fumio Sawa Fine Art, 2020. All Rights Reserved.